luciagutierrez
luciagutierrez  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:25
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 30, 2015

Dear colleagues,

I have been asked by an agency to give them some rates for just the technical part of subtitling, which I think they refer to the timing. However, they are asking for different rates for left to right and right to left languages. What is the difference regarding the timing? Why are they asking for different rates?
Thank you, I am quite brand new in this subtitling world and I have never come across something like this.
Thanks!

Abid Riaz
Abid Riaz  Identity Verified
Pakistan
Local time: 23:25
Member (2016)
Pashto (Pushto) to English
+ ...
Timecodes Sep 30, 2015

By 'technical' the client perhaps means the time codes. I provided time codes to a client recently but halfway through the work, I realized my rate of 1 dollar per minute was too low. I am also new to subtitling so I asked for a too-low rate. I suggest 3 dollars per minute for left to right and 4 for right to left since the formatting of the latter might be harder. These are the rates I have in mind for next time. Please do tell what software you are going to use to develop the subtitles. I used... See more
By 'technical' the client perhaps means the time codes. I provided time codes to a client recently but halfway through the work, I realized my rate of 1 dollar per minute was too low. I am also new to subtitling so I asked for a too-low rate. I suggest 3 dollars per minute for left to right and 4 for right to left since the formatting of the latter might be harder. These are the rates I have in mind for next time. Please do tell what software you are going to use to develop the subtitles. I used Aegisub.Collapse

Jane Nizi
Jane Nizi
United Kingdom
Italian to English
Other forum posts Sep 30, 2015

Hello there,
There are already a few posts which deal with this topic. For example: http://www.proz.com/forum/subtitling/283471-ask_me_anything_about_subtitling.html