No degree, but 5 years experience...
Thread poster: infact
infact
infact
Local time: 07:46
French to English
May 6, 2005

Hello everyone,

I have been translating full-time for 5 years. I have been looking for a distance-learning program in mechanical, automotive and plastics engineering for quite some time, and I can't find anything that fits my profile. I have a BA in French, so the only "education" I have received has been my work experience in a small translation company.

I have been freelance for over one year now and would really like to specialize in mechanical, automotive and/or
... See more
Hello everyone,

I have been translating full-time for 5 years. I have been looking for a distance-learning program in mechanical, automotive and plastics engineering for quite some time, and I can't find anything that fits my profile. I have a BA in French, so the only "education" I have received has been my work experience in a small translation company.

I have been freelance for over one year now and would really like to specialize in mechanical, automotive and/or plastics engineering. I live in France and I translate from French to English only.

Can anyone help me find what I am looking for?

Thanks!
Collapse

Konstantinos Karanikas B.Sc. Electr. Eng., MITI
Konstantinos Karanikas B.Sc. Electr. Eng., MITI
Greece
Local time: 08:46
Member (2003)
English to Greek
+ ...
Me, too! May 6, 2005

I have no degree in translation, but I am a Telecommunications Engineer by training, and I have been an English language teacher and a translator for more than 25 years! Long before computers and Internet came into the picture.

I have become (or about to become) a member to some prestigious professional bodies (including stage-3 exams to become an ITI qualified member) simply by showing a detailed record of any work I have undertaken during the last 5 years.

Experience
... See more