Output
Thread poster: WS McCallum
WS McCallum
WS McCallum
New Zealand
Local time: 07:58
French to English
Feb 4, 2021

One of the most common assumptions I get from people who I meet and tell I am a translator is that I must therefore translate novels as a living. Often they are disappointed when I explain that, in spite of my literary training, I ended up translating nearly
... See more

One of the most common assumptions I get from people who I meet and tell I am a translator is that I must therefore translate novels as a living. Often they are disappointed when I explain that, in spite of my literary training, I ended up translating nearly everything but literature.

The other common assumption is that translation is a dilettante’s activity or some sort of sideline, where you polish off a highly-crafted page or two now and then, in-between doing “real” work.

Consequently, I often have trouble convincing people that this is work I do on a daily basis and, yes, it takes up a full working day, and I have generally worked 6 days a week for most of my self-employed life.

As part of my work archives scheduled destruction programme, I took the opportunity to snap the following photo of some of my professional output, along with some stats:

Period: Four years (2014-2017)
Files height: 2.1 metres
Estimated number of translated words: 4.6 million
Languages translated: French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Slovene, Russian
Collapse

P.L.F. Persio
Dan Lucas
Christopher Schröder
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Zibow Retailleau
AMARILDA RUCI
Mervyn Henderson (X)

Sadek_A
Sadek_A  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:58
English to Arabic
+ ...
..... Feb 4, 2021

Totally biting my tongue!

Matthias Brombach
Matthias Brombach  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 19:58
Member (2007)
Dutch to German
+ ...
Wow! Feb 4, 2021

Do you still use a typewriter?