Is this useful software for subtitle translations?
Thread poster: DJCommie
DJCommie
DJCommie
Germany
Dec 31, 2020

Hello translators! I stumbled upon the topic of subtitle translations while making YouTube videos with my wife. Our videos are in English but we wanted to do Turkish subtitles. This was quite painful for my wife to translate, so being a software engineer, I made a few programs that really sped up her translation and I am wondering if this can be useful for you.

This is our workflow:
1. YouTube autogenerates text from voice
2. I download the .srt file (with correct timing
... See more
Hello translators! I stumbled upon the topic of subtitle translations while making YouTube videos with my wife. Our videos are in English but we wanted to do Turkish subtitles. This was quite painful for my wife to translate, so being a software engineer, I made a few programs that really sped up her translation and I am wondering if this can be useful for you.

This is our workflow:
1. YouTube autogenerates text from voice
2. I download the .srt file (with correct timings) and correct it for grammar, punctuation etc... to create a correct English sub file (template?)
3. I use my program to extract all the sentences to a text file
4. My wife translates the text file (with help of Google, Yandex) and produces a text file of Turkish sentences that match 1-1 with original English sentences
5. I use my program to generate a new .srt file with Turkish subs based on original English .srt timings
6. I use my program to modify .srt file to display two lines at a time instead of one

To summarize:
YouTube voice to text -> English .srt -> English sentences -> Turkish sentences -> Turkish .srt