Pagine:   < [1 2 3] >
Help- This is a disaster -I lost my project in Trados
Iniziatore argomento: Annett Roessner

Annett Roessner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 16:42
Membro (2017)
Da Inglese a Tedesco
AVVIO ARGOMENTO
Hi Angela May 15

I don’t think it saved anything because all files are dated 10th May when I started the project. All I can say is I did not sleep last night. It’s truly a nightmare.

Thanks


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 11
 

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finlandia
Local time: 09:42
Membro (2003)
Da Finlandese a Tedesco
+ ...
Search for .sdlxliff May 15

In Windows file view type .sdlxliff into the search-field up right. You will see all your project files and can locate the most recent one.
How do you go about when saving the project for the first time? When you translate a single document the first time you save the file you are prompted for selecting the location. I always save in the same folder with the original file.


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 15
 

Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russia
Local time: 09:42
Da Inglese a Russo
Did you see Angie Garbarino's response? May 15

'I tried to create a new project for the file with the same name and Trados tells me that this Project already exists.' means that your project is just hidden. You can hide a project or projects as easily as uncontrollably by scrolling your mouse wheel in a 'right' place (when cursor is hovering over the fields shown on the screenshot by Angie Garbarino).

Also, you could remove the project from the list (it does not mean you deleted it from your computer). In this case you should try searching for *.sdlproj (not sdlxliff, but you may try both of course). Clicking on *.sdlproj will bring your project back to the list of projects.

[Edited at 2018-05-15 06:49 GMT]


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 18
 

Annett Roessner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 16:42
Membro (2017)
Da Inglese a Tedesco
AVVIO ARGOMENTO
Screenshots of error message May 15

Hi all

This is the error message when I'm trying to open the file:

Screen shot error message

This is the file with the correct date and time:

File

Thanks


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 9
 

Annett Roessner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 16:42
Membro (2017)
Da Inglese a Tedesco
AVVIO ARGOMENTO
Error message when trying to open the project May 15

Error message when opening project file

Why do I get these error messages


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 10
 

Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 08:42
Membro (2001)
Da Tedesco a Italiano
+ ...
Restart-Restore... May 15

Dear Annett,

gosh, I feel for you, we all know what a nightmare this is, we have all - more or less - gone thru a disaster.

I have a feeling that you not only re-started the PC, but also restored it... which can cause troubles, you should have gone to plan B - alignment (have you not?) - instead of keep on trying to find the lost one.

S**t happens all the time, contact your agency and inform them, if you haven't yet (which I would have from the start), they are human beings, too, they'll understand and try to help or support you... my PMs would and dive into translation again

Good luck!
Giuliana


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 4
 

Annett Roessner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 16:42
Membro (2017)
Da Inglese a Tedesco
AVVIO ARGOMENTO
A disaster indeed May 15

I already contacted my agency. Unfortunately, this is my first job with them and probably the last by the way things are going.

I'm not sure how the alignment works. I don't think the TM saved properly. Is there any way to search for all my TMs. Maybe I saved it differently.


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 9
 

Annett Roessner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 16:42
Membro (2017)
Da Inglese a Tedesco
AVVIO ARGOMENTO
Other question for Guiliana... May 15

... how would I have accidently restored it. What happend was my laptop was connected to the power outlet and the cord accidently became undone. So the laptop shut down. (I need a new battery for my laptop, it's no longer working).

I just want to make sure this never ever happens again.


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 6
 

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finlandia
Local time: 09:42
Membro (2003)
Da Finlandese a Tedesco
+ ...
Power failure not guilty May 15

My laptop every few months suddenly goes down without notice or reason, but I have never lost any work. Trados saves every few minutes automatically.

Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 10
 

Cristina C.  Identity Verified
Romania
Local time: 09:42
Membro (2016)
Da Inglese a Rumeno
+ ...
May 15



[Edited at 2018-05-15 10:55 GMT]


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 12
 

NeoAtlas
Spagna
Local time: 08:42
Da Inglese a Spagnolo
+ ...
UPS, backups, no OneDrive May 15

Hi Annett,
Sorry for your problem. I hope you can recover your work with any of the suggestions or from me (I leave it for the end of this post).

For the future:
- Use a UPS. A couple of minutes canbe enough to avoid hours of frustration. For a portable, a working battery should be enough.
- Make daily backups, at least.
- I wouldn't trust any of those services to share information (OneDrive, GoogleDrive, Dropbox, …) unless there is a good reason (i.e., sharing data with colleagues, not with yourself or as a backup procedure).

Why did it happen?
Think of the moment of the electric cable got disconnected: if Studio was saving the SDLXLIFF or updating the TM at that precise time, both could be corrupted (they can even disappeared, as it happened to me once). When you switched on the portable, the corrupted version of your PC updated the cloud version in OneDrive (which was still fine).

The solution. One more try…
1. Open your OneDrive account in the web (https://onedrive.live.com) with your web browser (not the local copy in your portable).
2. Go to the path shown for your project (/Documents/Windows 10/…)
3. Select the SDLTM file, right click and select Version History (or something like this). Grab the one with the appropriate time stamp.
4. Same thing about the SDLXLIFF.
5. Test if they have the data you need… Otherwise, grab a previous versionand re-test…

I hope it helps!


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 17
 

Annett Roessner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 16:42
Membro (2017)
Da Inglese a Tedesco
AVVIO ARGOMENTO
Hi NeoAtlas May 15

Many thanks Neoatlas. The funny thing is, I don’t even use the cloud function in the OneDrive. If I click it on it, it asks me to set up an account. Could my file still be somewhere in the cloud?

Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 5
 

Cristina C.  Identity Verified
Romania
Local time: 09:42
Membro (2016)
Da Inglese a Rumeno
+ ...
link May 15

HTH

https://community.sdl.com/product-groups/translationproductivity/f/90/t/7836


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 18
 

NeoAtlas
Spagna
Local time: 08:42
Da Inglese a Spagnolo
+ ...
Try… May 15

Annett Roessner wrote:
I don’t even use the cloud function in the OneDrive. If I click it on it, it asks me to set up an account. Could my file still be somewhere in the cloud?

It takes less than a minute to check OneDrive online. If it's your web browser asking for your OneDrive credentials, then enter the same information as in your laptop and follow the procedure.
But if it is your laptop the one asking you to login, OneDrive wasn't active, which could have been your saviour. Sorry in this case.

Good luck!
… Jesús Prieto …


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 7
 

Annett Roessner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 16:42
Membro (2017)
Da Inglese a Tedesco
AVVIO ARGOMENTO
Thank you everybody... May 18

...unfortunately, I had to retranslate my entire document. (4,600 words).

Christina, thank you so much for digging out that link. This is exactly the error. It seems so rare but is so nasty.

With all of this I don’t know what happened to my TM which would have saved me all this drama. Does anybody know how I can check in Trados if it is getting updated.

Thanks again.

Annett


Direct link Reply with quote Turn social sharing on.
Like 8
 
Pagine:   < [1 2 3] >


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Help- This is a disaster -I lost my project in Trados

Advanced search







Protemos translation business management system
Create your account in minutes, and start working! 3-month trial for agencies, and free for freelancers!

The system lets you keep client/vendor database, with contacts and rates, manage projects and assign jobs to vendors, issue invoices, track payments, store and manage project files, generate business reports on turnover profit per client/manager etc.

More info »
CafeTran Espresso
You've never met a CAT tool this clever!

Translate faster & easier, using a sophisticated CAT tool built by a translator / developer. Accept jobs from clients who use SDL Trados, MemoQ, Wordfast & major CAT tools. Download and start using CafeTran Espresso -- for free

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Cerca un termine
  • Lavori
  • Forum
  • Multiple search