TGB and VAT - SHALL I PAY IT IN MY COUNTRY (ITALY) ?
Thread poster: Melissa Stocchero
Melissa Stocchero
Melissa Stocchero  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 13:13
Italian
+ ...
Dec 3, 2019

HI,

I've just purchased a software on Proz.com, and since I have a VAT number, VAT was not included in the invoice. Now, the big question is: am I required to personally pay that VAT amount in ITALY? This is a point I can't figure out ... is this obligation shifted on me?
Can somebody help me?

Thank you in advance
Melissa

Anke Elzinga
Anke Elzinga
Member (2019)
English to Dutch
+ ...
VAT responsibility Dec 4, 2019

Hi Melissa,

I am by no means a tax expert in any country but in my experience NO VAT is charged on international purchases from Business to Business.

Anyway, the liability of paying VAT when charged always lies with the seller in his/her country so you don't have to worry about paying anything to anybody.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Ask an accountant, sorry Dec 4, 2019

Melissa Stocchero wrote:
I've just purchased software via ProZ.com, and since I have a VAT number, VAT was not included on the invoice. Am I now required to personally pay that VAT amount in ITALY?

Different EU countries have different laws about that, so I suggest you ask several local accounts and then decide which ones to believe.

In my own country of residence (the Netherlands), if I buy software from another EU country, and the VAT was shifted to me (as it was in your case), then I have to pay VAT on that purchase at the Dutch VAT rate (even if the Dutch VAT rate is different from the VAT rate in the country that I bought the software from).

Melissa Stocchero
Italy
Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thanx Dec 4, 2019

Anke Elzinga wrote:

Hi Melissa,

I am by no means a tax expert in any country but in my experience NO VAT is charged on international purchases from Business to Business.