Anne Goergens  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 21:16
Member (2019)
Swedish to German
+ ...
Nov 5, 2019

Hi,

I am registered as a sole trader in an Sweden (EU country). I did a translation for an agency, the billing address is in the EU. They could not provide a VAT number, neither any kind of documentation that they are not subject to VAT. As they don't want to pay VAT, their suggestion is that I deduct the VAT percentage (25 %) from my rate and then add VAT,meaning I will pay the VAT myself.

I am still pretty new to all of this but I thought all legit EU companies had
... See more
Hi,

I am registered as a sole trader in an Sweden (EU country). I did a translation for an agency, the billing address is in the EU. They could not provide a VAT number, neither any kind of documentation that they are not subject to VAT. As they don't want to pay VAT, their suggestion is that I deduct the VAT percentage (25 %) from my rate and then add VAT,meaning I will pay the VAT myself.

I am still pretty new to all of this but I thought all legit EU companies had a VAT number (or if it is an organization or similar, instead some document to prove they are not subject to VAT anyway).

Does anybody know more or had a problem like this before?

Thanks for your help
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Anne Nov 5, 2019

Anne Goergens wrote:
As they don't want to pay VAT, their suggestion is that I deduct the VAT percentage (25 %) from my rate and then add VAT.

Yes, some companies in the EU do not have VAT numbers (e.g. in the UK, the VAT registration threshold is quite high). When that happens, in my own country of residence (the Netherlands), I'm required to charge VAT.

Rules are rules, and if they're not registered for VAT, then they (or someone) must pay VAT.