Thread poster: Solomon Wright
Solomon Wright
Solomon Wright  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 02:55
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Oct 26, 2006

I have a document in Chinese, to be set as part of a translation exercise. I need to prune it so that it is roughly equivalent to a 1000 word English document; as I have no knowledge of the Chinese language or writing system, my only way of doing this is by using MS Word's wordcounting tool. Can anyone tell me roughly how many characters (as counted by Word) would equate to a 1000 word text in English?

Or put more simply, when you translate from Chinese to English, what is the rat
... See more
I have a document in Chinese, to be set as part of a translation exercise. I need to prune it so that it is roughly equivalent to a 1000 word English document; as I have no knowledge of the Chinese language or writing system, my only way of doing this is by using MS Word's wordcounting tool. Can anyone tell me roughly how many characters (as counted by Word) would equate to a 1000 word text in English?

Or put more simply, when you translate from Chinese to English, what is the ratio of Chinese characters to English words (again, as counted by Word just in case the figure varies - I haven't a clue...)

Many thanks
Solomon
Collapse

Abbatrans
Abbatrans
Local time: 18:55
Ratio Chinese characters to one English word Oct 26, 2006

This is a really interesting question, and I would love to hear about other translators' practices and experiences.

I have recently come across the same problem when quoting to a client. At the time being I went from the basis of 2.5 characters per word. The somewhat coarse and arbitrary logic behind it: A large proportion of Chinese words (but by far not all!!!) are made up of two characters. "To be on the safe side" I added 0.5 character.

Drawback: Sometimes the
... See more
This is a really interesting question, and I would love to hear about other translators' practices and experiences.