Igor Timko
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:12
Member (2010)
English to Russian
+ ...
Dec 8, 2017

Dear all,

I am a UK-based translator. I have just completed a job for a German-based customer.
When she learned that I do not pay VAT, she asked me to add a statement on my invoice saying that, and she mentioned that there was a standard formula used by UK-based translators.

What would you normally write in this case?

I am a sole proprietor. I do not pay VAT, because I do not reach the threshold.

Thank you for your help.

K
... See more
Dear all,

I am a UK-based translator. I have just completed a job for a German-based customer.
When she learned that I do not pay VAT, she asked me to add a statement on my invoice saying that, and she mentioned that there was a standard formula used by UK-based translators.

Thank you for your help.

Kind regards,
Igor Timko
Collapse

Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
A German agency I work for asked me to always include the following on my invoices: Dec 8, 2017

Igor Timko PhD MCIL wrote:

Dear all,

Thank you for your help.

Kind regards,
Igor Timko

Reverse Charge; see ‘VAT Notice 741A: place of supply of services’.
Unique Taxpayer Reference Number (UTR): XXXXXXXX’.

Michael

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
VAT not applicable Dec 8, 2017

"VAT not applicable"

That's what I put on my invoices. It has never been queried.

Angus Stewart
Angus Stewart  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
French to English
+ ...
"VAT reverse charge" and "VAT not applicable" Dec 8, 2017

Within the EU the VAT reverse charge applies. The following is the wording I use for VAT registered clients within the EU: "VAT exempt invoice in accordance with Articles 44 and 196 of Council Directive 2006/112/EC. This service is subject to the VAT reverse charge."