Garrett Brown
Garrett Brown
United States
Local time: 19:42
Japanese to English
+ ...
Jul 13, 2017

Hello,

I'm a fairly new translator, and am in the process of getting on the Japanese/Korean to English freelancer list for a certain company. They've accepted my proposed rate of 6 cents (USD) per character in the source text. However, they're wondering about my rate for editing, as well. I haven't technically done editing before, but I figured I should give them a rate comparable to my proposed 6 cents per character. Does anyone have a good way to determine an appropriate rate
... See more
Hello,

I'm a fairly new translator, and am in the process of getting on the Japanese/Korean to English freelancer list for a certain company. They've accepted my proposed rate of 6 cents (USD) per character in the source text. However, they're wondering about my rate for editing, as well. I haven't technically done editing before, but I figured I should give them a rate comparable to my proposed 6 cents per character. Does anyone have a good way to determine an appropriate rate based off of this?

Thank you.
Collapse

Robert Rietvelt
Robert Rietvelt  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:42
Member (2006)
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
Per hour Jul 13, 2017

gbrown wrote:

Hello,

I'm a fairly new translator, and am in the process of getting on the Japanese/Korean to English freelancer list for a certain company. They've accepted my proposed rate of 6 cents (USD) per character in the source text. However, they're wondering about my rate for editing, as well. I haven't technically done editing before, but I figured I should give them a rate comparable to my proposed 6 cents per character. Does anyone have a good way to determine an appropriate rate based off of this?

Thank you.

Charge them by the hour. In many/most cases editing is no more then rewriting/retranslating somebody elses mess, or in the worst case a MT translation. Takes you a lot of time.

[Edited at 2017-07-13 21:05 GMT]