No copyright ownership of medical translations?
Thread poster: Peter Leeflang
Peter Leeflang
Peter Leeflang  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:50
Member (2014)
French to English
+ ...
Sep 24, 2014

I'm rather new in dealing with the copyright ownership issue of medical translations.

With direct private and corporate I make sure to include in the contract that copyright only transfers upon receipt of full payment. That way I make clear that the customer can only use my work once he has paid the bill.

Now, for the first time, I encounter a translation agency that is interested in working with me on medical translations, but it claims in its contract that the transl
... See more
I'm rather new in dealing with the copyright ownership issue of medical translations.

With direct private and corporate I make sure to include in the contract that copyright only transfers upon receipt of full payment. That way I make clear that the customer can only use my work once he has paid the bill.

Now, for the first time, I encounter a translation agency that is interested in working with me on medical translations, but it claims in its contract that the translator does not own the copyright of the translation.

There is no phrase saying anything about remuneration being a requirement for getting the copyright of my translation work.

Just to be clear, I do not claim copyright over the creative aspects of the medical document, but I want to claim copyright over the work to translate that. Is that unreasonable in this field?

The translation agency also claimed that most translations would be for internal use only, mainly clinical trials documents (contradicted by them also looking for medical translators for medical reports and ethics committee correspondence), while it is known that this is not how it works with clinical trials. The clinical trial articles often get translated in multiple languages and those translations get sold per article at hefty prices.