Weblate
Thread poster: ArtOne
ArtOne
ArtOne
Canada
Local time: 22:34
Jul 21, 2017

We received a request from a client to translate their UI in Weblate directly (weblate.hexonet.net). Our research shows that Weblate has good reviews on the developers' end.

Does anyone have an experience with Weblate? We would be interested in translators' feedback.

Thank you in advance!

Olena Polissky
Art One Translations

Shouguang Cao
Shouguang Cao  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 13:34
English to Chinese
+ ...
I don't Jul 22, 2017

I don't have exprience with weblate but I have had lots of experience translating online. The problem with translating online is not whether it's feature rich. Above all, translating basically is looking at the source and type out the translation. It's the connection speed from world-wide. China has bad Internet connections to outside China, and most on-line projects are a pain for me. I will always prefer online CATs which has a export/import feature, so that I can export and download and then ... See more
I don't have exprience with weblate but I have had lots of experience translating online. The problem with translating online is not whether it's feature rich. Above all, translating basically is looking at the source and type out the translation. It's the connection speed from world-wide. China has bad Internet connections to outside China, and most on-line projects are a pain for me. I will always prefer online CATs which has a export/import feature, so that I can export and download and then import my translation.

[Edited at 2017-07-22 09:03 GMT]
Collapse

Luca Tutino
Luca Tutino  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2002)
English to Italian
+ ...
Export/Import feature is essential Jul 22, 2017

Shouguang Cao wrote:

I will always prefer online CATs which has a export/import feature, so that I can export and download and then import my translation.