Thread poster: Tariq Shaar
Tariq Shaar
Tariq Shaar
United Arab Emirates
Local time: 08:14
Arabic to English
+ ...
Jul 19, 2017

I have been a translator for over 10 years now, so I should be able to figure out how many pages a translator should finish per day, which I do. But my question is a bit different. I am currently working on a big file (200 pages), and to finish it on time I have been told by the management to finish at least 15 pages every day for 17 days in a row. (Note: what I mean by a "day" here is the working hours "9 hours"), so this means doing 15 pages in 9 hours everyday for 17 days.

Is thi
... See more
I have been a translator for over 10 years now, so I should be able to figure out how many pages a translator should finish per day, which I do. But my question is a bit different. I am currently working on a big file (200 pages), and to finish it on time I have been told by the management to finish at least 15 pages every day for 17 days in a row. (Note: what I mean by a "day" here is the working hours "9 hours"), so this means doing 15 pages in 9 hours everyday for 17 days.

Is this normal? Is it possible for a translator to keep doing 15 pages a day everyday for 17 days?

Also note that sometimes I am forced to do 23 pages in 9 hours.

Looking forward to your thoughts on this matter.
Collapse

Iman Tahanan
Iman Tahanan
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
Beyond normal workload Jul 19, 2017

Depends on the text type but this is typically the request of managers and clients who don't know much about the translation process and the difficulties in it. This most probably leads to a low quality.

Agneta Pallinder
Agneta Pallinder  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:14
Member (2014)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Slavedriving! Jul 19, 2017

Are you a fulltime employee of this company, Tariq? Most of us here are freelance, so we negotiate how quickly we can deliver a given amount of text. You use the word "forced" - this is worrying.