JNBJ
JNBJ
Denmark
Local time: 10:33
Danish to English
+ ...
Jan 12, 2017

Hi everyone,

I have a MSc in International Development and worked a few years in the NGO sector before I went through something of a career change and ended up in freelance translation. It didn't take me very long to start making more than I did in my last full-time job (granted, that was the NGO sector...), and I've got a great relationship with 3 agencies who feed me lots of work. So far I've mostly been translating texts on other subjects in which I have some experience, but I've
... See more
Hi everyone,

I have a MSc in International Development and worked a few years in the NGO sector before I went through something of a career change and ended up in freelance translation. It didn't take me very long to start making more than I did in my last full-time job (granted, that was the NGO sector...), and I've got a great relationship with 3 agencies who feed me lots of work. So far I've mostly been translating texts on other subjects in which I have some experience, but I've been itching to get back into translating about things I'm actually interested in.

After recently contacting 15-20 NGOs in Denmark, though, all but one of those that replied wrote something along the lines of "We use volunteers for that." I did get one job out of it (my first direct client job, yay!), but I was generally pretty disappointed by the lack of positive responses. Some of those who replied even seemed a little insulted that I had the audacity to offering a service they were currently getting for free.

It's made me wonder whether it's realistic to set up a niche as a freelance translator in the NGO sector unless you work in one of the 'big' language pairs, like EN-FR, where there are many more clients to choose from. I'd love to hear from other translators who have faced similar challenges or have any helpful advice.
Collapse

Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)